creative tension

November 4, 2006

I’ve found that over the years trying to change my habits always creates stress. Now that I’m drawing and posting daily, I find that I am experiencing a different type of stress. I think it’s a good thing. I am thinking about what I’m going to do and when, and looking for ideas all the time. At times it feels like I’m a little over-stimulated, kind of like an coffee buzz, only an arty buzz. I do wonder where this might lead. At least, for now, I’m enjoying the ride.

a la schiele

I was pleased with this piece, although I feel “guilty” copying artists work. I like Egon Schiele’s work – the angst, the eroticism… he was such a young man. I wonder what bucket of emotion I have to draw from – some middle-aged angst? Nope. Life’s pretty good. Still, I’d like to find some “subject” to draw as a body of work. Things I like: irises, puffins, cranes, faces, beetles, leaves… good for practice. I’ll probably stumble upon it in time, just got to keep working.

Leave a Reply

