Making the most of November

November 1, 2007

November is NaBloPoMo and Drawmo! for me. Which translate to more time at the computer. Managing my time is going to be important. My main blog reside here and this wordpress blog has sat idle since last year. I’ve toyed with the idea of using this space as a sort of clearinghouse for various things I have going on – notes to self, reminder to-do, goals for assorted activities… a rambling artist daily pages if you will. Discipline to do it and maintain it – that’s the key.

NaBloPoMo has very cleverly engaged Ning to host the month long activities. All kinds of groups have sprouted and the sites abuzz with social networking. This morning there were 3675 member and tonight the NaBloPoMo member count is at 4598. I need to cull my gmail inbox already. It’s going to be interesting to see how this may impact other sites. In one group, they were singing the praises of Goodreads and from that post alone four new people joined Goodreads.

I have two new books to add to my Goodreads art-studio shelf, both be Sarah Simblet, Anatomy for the Artist and Sketchbook for the Artist (aka The Drawing Book in the UK.) I’ve been trying not to drool on the pages. They are stunning! I am in awe. Humbled, but not intimidated, and eager to spend more time drawing. It’s an odd feeling.

I’ve been reading a lot lately. With the youngest heading off to college last month I figured I’d have some extra time but it feels like I have more than I thought. I keep thinking I’m forgetting to do something but I’m meeting all my obligations and current with all activities. Feels good.

Leave a Reply

