being inspired…

November 3, 2007

I started looking through Sarah Simblet’s Sketchbook for the Artist this evening. Wow! I love the feel of the pages, her words, the illustration. She wrote –

“There are countless reasons for drawing. We should not try to know how every finished picture will look, but it is important to be clear why we are making it. Decide before you start whether you are drawing to warm up, or to discover the best use of a new material, to express the beauty in a moment’s play of light, conduct an experiment, make a calculation, shout against a terrible injustice, or illustrate a dream.”

I really find those statements very helpful. As I have been sketching these last few days, that judging little petty voice in the back of my mind kept whispering that the sketches weren’t good enough. Why was I making the drawings? – obviously to draw everyday for DrawMo!, but mostly to figure out what I needed to do to make a stamp… conduct an experiment. Putting it in perspective, indeed.

Deciding in advance why I’m drawing is one thing, putting in the hard work and discipline quite another. We’ll see where the journey takes me.

Leave a Reply

