Getting Organized for 2008

December 26, 2007

I bought Dave Allen‘s Getting Things Done and have from time to time thumbed through it in an attempt to motivate myself to actually get things done! Sometimes just thinking about the book has inspired to get going on some things but I haven’t yet spent the necessary time to really get everything out of my head, written down and ready to work on. Why not? I think I may have thought that GTD was a bit anal-retentive too complicated. More likely, I was too lazy to do the work necessary to get all the “stuff” collected, out of my head and ready to process. During the next few weeks/months I’m going to pull it together and start working on GTD and begin the new year with an actionable plan to be more productive with my time.

I’ve been working on the workflow process (off an on) for years: collect, process, organize, review, and do. My left-brained self works comfortably in this mode. I’ve also been gathering and consolidating ideas on my vision of my different levels of focus. Allen’s next method in gaining control and perspective is achieved through what he calls natural planning. I know I get caught up in “reactive” planning and despite my best intentions I haven’t made the natural planning model work. I’m sure after I do the work of collecting everything that I’ll get to the “next actions” management that I’ve been missing.

My 6 levels of focus:

  • Life Goals – Pursuit of happiness by living a full life: make it up, make it happen!
  • 3 to 8 years – a broad celebration of life. A time to let go of “realizing expectations” and turn more towards leisure interests, living with more lightness and deepening friendships and personal relationships. I’m not sure what I’ll be five plus years from now but I do know that I want the journey over these years to be focused on:
    • Developing a more inner-driven behavior: an ease to enjoy many things; a focus on the here-and-now; comfort with assertiveness, compromise, and managing conflict; an inner contentment with life.
    • Broaden and deepen my expressions of intimacy or caring – allowing friendship to increase in importance.
    • Find outlets for social caring – know how to enrich my sensitivity to the world.
    • Appreciate play as a feature in my life and get more personal meaning from travel and leisure.
    • Know how to create a simpler more fulfilling time schedule
  • next 3 years – I’ve pulled together many of the things I want to do in life and with my art work in two separate 101 tasks in 1001 days (here: life and art.) I still need to do one last review and check that I have, in fact, the integration I need from my 101 tasks through my areas of responsibilities to my current projects and activities.
  • areas of responsibility –
    • Be and take care of me – mind, body, and spirit.
    • Infuse the joy of being a couple into my daily life – shaping, sharing and managing life together.
    • Actively affirm the lives of family and close friends – be optimistic, keep thinking fresh, and do what it takes to make sure they are well and loved.
    • Express and formulate my artistic work and distinctive character in various media.
    • Reach out and give back to a broader community.
  • current projects – weekly review: revise projects and someday/maybe’s
  • current activities – Deal with “stuff” and the daily to-do (next actions)

Well, that’s a start. Next, I need to get to the stuff and start a weekly list that I can start review each Friday.

    Leave a Reply

